In recent years, many states have changed drug laws to legalize marijuana for medical purposes. However, it is important to know that Texas still severely limits the legal uses of medical marijuana. Under state law, you may only consume certain types of marijuana as part of a treatment plan for a specific medical condition.
According to FindLaw, the Texas Compassionate Use Act may allow you to use medical marijuana to treat intractable epilepsy. According to the law, you must have a doctor’s prescription for the drug. Even with a prescription, you may only consume oil that has a CBD ratio of over 10%. The oil must also have a very low percentage of THC (less than 0.5%). The law does not allow you to consume cannabis products in any other forms.
Under Texas law, you may not grow marijuana at all, even if you plan to consume it legally according to the Compassionate Use Act. There are a few facilities where you may purchase legal CBD oil with a prescription. The state licenses all legal medical marijuana facilities.
If you get a conviction for marijuana possession that does not meet the legal standards for medical use, you may face severe penalties. Even possession of fewer than 2 ounces could lead to a fine of up to $2,000. You may face jail time as well; the maximum penalty for this Class B misdemeanor is 180 days in jail. Possessing a concentrated form of marijuana, such as hash oil, may lead to a felony conviction and years in jail.
This information about medical marijuana use in Texas is intended for educational purposes only and should not be interpreted as legal advice.